Skip navigation
Extraordinary Lives Start With a Great Catholic Education

School Year Calendar


2015-16 School Year Calendar

Printable 2015-16 School Year Calendar

First day of classes Elementary and Secondary schools Tuesday, September 8, 2015
First Day of classes Semester 2 Secondary Thursday, February 4, 2016
School Year ends Elementary and Secondary Schools Thursday, June 30, 2016
Number of school days for the 2015-16 school year 194
Number of Instructional Days in Elementary Schools 188
Number of Instructional Days in Secondary Schools 188
Number of Professional Activity Days in Elementary Schools 6
Number of Professional Activity Days in Secondary Schools 6

School Holidays for the 2015-16 School Year


Every Saturday and Sunday
Labour Day Monday, September 7, 2015
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 12, 2015
Christmas Break (inclusive) Monday, December 21, 2015 to Friday, January 1, 2016
Family Day Monday, February 15, 2016
Mid-Winter Break (inclusive) Monday, March 14, 2016 to Friday, March 18, 2016
Good Friday Friday, March 25, 2016
Easter Monday Monday, March 28, 2016
Victoria Day Monday, May 23, 2016

Professional Activity Days

Elementary Schools
1. Thursday, September 3, 2015 Provincial Priorities in a Catholic context
2. Friday, September 18, 2015 Principal’s Day: Re-organization/Faith Development
3. Monday, January 18, 2016 Term 1 Assessment and Evaluation of Pupil Progress
4. Friday, February 5, 2016 Reporting to Parents 
5. Friday, May 13, 2016 Provincial Priorities in a Catholic context
6. Monday, June 13, 2016 Term 2 Assessment and Evaluation of Pupil Progress

St. Sofia School ONLY
1. Thursday, September 3, 2015 Provincial Priorities in a Catholic context
2. Thursday, January 7, 2016  Curriculum/Faith Development
3. Friday, February 5, 2016 Reporting to Parents 
4. Friday, April 29, 2016  Curriculum/Faith Development 
5. Friday, May 13, 2016 Provincial Priorities in a Catholic context
6. Monday, June 13, 2016 Term 2 Assessment and Evaluation of Pupil Progress

Secondary Schools
1. Thursday, September 3, 2015 Provincial Priorities in a Catholic context
2. Friday, September 18, 2015 Provincial Priorities in a Catholic context
3. Wednesday, February 3, 2016 Principal’s Day: Semester Turnaround
4. Tuesday, June 28, 2016 *Principal’s Day: Year End Reporting and Activities
5. Wednesday, June 29, 2016 *Principal’s Day: Year End Reporting and Activities
6. Thursday, June 30, 2016 *Principal’s Day: Year End Reporting and Activities

*Semester and year end evaluations and school-wide promotion meetings; contact parents with summer school recommendations, OSR and report card preparation; inventory management of books, equipment, learning materials; curriculum development for new course outlines; goal setting for the upcoming school year.

Secondary – Examination Days

Semester 1: January 26, 27, 28, 29, February 1, 2016   
February 2, 2016 - Instructional Day (Examination Review) 

Semester 2: June 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 2016 
June 27, 2016 - Instructional Day (Examination Review)

back to top