Skip navigation
Extraordinary Lives Start With a Great Catholic Education

School Year Calendar


NEW! - 2014-15 School Year Calendar (Pending Ministry Approval)

2013-2014 School Year Calendar

Printable 2013-2014 School Year Calendar

First day of classes elementary and secondary schools
Tuesday, September 3, 2013
First Day of classes Semester 2 Secondary Friday, January 31, 2014
School Year ends Elementary and Secondary Schools Friday, June 27, 2014
Number of school days for the 2013 – 2014 school year 194
Number of Instructional Days in Elementary Schools 188
Number of Instructional Days in Secondary Schools 188
Number of Professional Activity Days in Elementary Schools 6
Number of Professional Activity Days in Secondary Schools 6

School Holidays for the 2013-2014 School Year


Every Saturday and Sunday
Labour Day Monday, September 2, 2013
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 14, 2013
Christmas Break (inclusive) Monday, December 23, 2013 to Friday, January 3, 2014
Family Day Monday, February 17, 2014
Mid-Winter Break (inclusive) Monday, March 10, 2014 to Friday, March 14, 2014
Good Friday Friday, April 18, 2014
Easter Monday Monday, April 21, 2014
Victoria Day Monday, May 19, 2014

Elementary Schools – Professional Activity Days


1. Friday, September 13, 2013 Principal’s Day: Re-organization/Faith Development/Prov. Priorities
2. Friday, October 11, 2013 Professional Activity Day
3. Friday, December 20, 2013 Professional Activity Day
4. Monday, January 20, 2014 Term 1 Assessment and Evaluation of Pupil Progress
5. Friday, March 7, 2014 Professional Activity Day
6. Monday, June 9, 2014 Term 2 Assessment and Evaluation of Pupil Progress

St. Sofia School ONLY


1. Friday, October 11, 2013 Professional Activity Day
2. Friday, December 20, 2013  Professional Activity Day
3. Tuesday, January 7, 2014 Principal's Day: Curriculum/Faith Development
4. Monday, January 20, 2014  Term 1 Assessment and Evaluation of Pupil Progress 
5. Friday, March 7, 2014 Professional Activity Day
6. Monday, June 9, 2014 Term 2 Assessment and Evaluation of Pupil Progress

Secondary Schools – Professional Activity Days


1. Friday, October 11, 2013 Professional Activity Day
2. Friday, December 20, 2013 Professional Activity Day
3. Thursday, January 30, 2014 Principal’s Day: Semester Turnaround
4. Friday, March 7, 2014 Professional Activity Day
5. Thursday, June 26, 2014 *Principal’s Day: Year End Reporting and Activities
6. Friday, June 27, 2014 *Principal’s Day: Year End Reporting and Activities

*Semester and year end evaluations and school-wide promotion meetings; contact parents with summer school recommendations, OSR and report card preparation; inventory management of books, equipment, learning materials; curriculum development for new course outlines; goal setting for the upcoming school year.

Secondary – Examination Days


Semester 1 January 22 - 28, 2014
Semester 2 June 18 – 24, 2014
back to top